TradingSchools.Org: Income and Expense Report

Thanks for reading today’s income report.

What is the income report? Every month, I will be publishing a month end income report. This monthly report will include all of the income that TradingSchools.Org has generated. In addition, all marketing agreements will be described in exact detail. In my opinion, it is important that the reader fully grasp any potential conflicts of interest, and factor this into there individual decision making.

In addition to any and all marketing agreements, and income disclosures, I will also be publishing a detailed traffic report for TradingSchools.Org. This way, viewers can watch as the audience grows (or shrinks). I wanted to do this because I feel that many readers might be interested in how an online business works and generates revenue as well as how to grow this blog in an ethical manner. There are a lot of opportunities in running an online business, and it is my hope that my blog inspires many of you to start your own blog. In particular, the trading community really needs more blogs and honest conversation regarding trading vendors.

Finally, I will also be publishing an expense report that details every single cost to run the TradingSchools.Org blog. There are a lot of little moving parts that make it work, and you might be surprised at how labor intensive and time consuming this endeavor really is.

Marketing Agreements

On January 1st, 2015 I added Google Adsense advertising to the blog. What is Google Adsense advertising? As you scroll around the TradingSchools.Org blog, you will see ads interspersed throughout the website. Most notably, on the top of every page, you will see an ad. I have no control over these ads, Google places ads inside of these spaces, and they are meant to be tailored to your individual tastes. The following is an example:

Adsense Ad

How much revenue do these ads generate? And how much traffic does TradingSchools.Org generate?

On January 1, 2015, I began including Adsense on the blog. There are approximately 4 ads that Google populated on the site. The following chart is a screen shot that I took from the Google Adsense account module. The chart expresses the ad revenue in terms of daily income. As you can see, the first few months were pretty meager. Mainly .50 cents a day, and a few $1.00 days. However, in July things started to pick up and the blog averaged about $5 each day. In August, about $10 day. And now for September the daily income is about $18 per day.

Since inception, the blog has generated $1,300 in Adsense revenue. Details below:

Adsense Revenue

Also, as you can see above, the TradingSchools.Org website, since January 1, 2015 has gotten 248,599 page views and 817,258 impressions. What does this mean? This simply means that 248,599 pages have loaded TradingSchools.Org onto the browser of a person’s computer. The impressions of 817,258 represent the amount of times that a Google ad has loaded onto the browser of a person’s computer. Why more impressions than page views? Because on some pages, there might be 3 google ads, therefore the higher number of overall impressions.

Since July 2015, the TradingSchools.Org web traffic has really been exploding. Apparently, word is getting out and people enjoy reading the reviews. However, with this added audience comes added responsibility. I feel like the moment has arrived where I need to be fully transparent about EVERYTHING. The good, the bad, the ugly, and the awesome.

From Day 1, I felt like the most important disclosure was my criminal history. Its ugly. If you have not read about my past, then you should stop now and read the “Warning” page. This will take you to a pretty bad place and should scare the hell out of you. Its important that I disclose this and talk openly and honestly about this period of my life. At that time in my life, I would consider myself one of the worst stock swindlers of my generation. A prison sentence, time and reflection has given me a unique perspective on fraud and how it relates to human nature. In order for TradingSchools.Org to achieve the goal of bringing transparency to an industry rife with fraud, corruption and misdirection, then I needed to become the very thing that this industry needs most. I needed to fully embrace and embody honesty, sincerity, transparency, and a belief that good always conquers evil. This might sound corny, but its my core philosophy. OK, continuing on with full transparency.

The next marketing agreement that I want to talk about is with TradingMission.com.

I wrote a review back on January 31st, 2015 and the review went viral pretty quickly. I next contacted Carlos Diaz about promoting his trading service to my readers. We agreed that he would pay me 25% of gross sales. I have to admit, I was really nervous recommending the service because now the stakes were real. If people read my review, and signed up, and then Carlos started to do the wrong thing then my audience would suffer and be hurt. And so, before I decided to go forward with the deal, I needed to put my own money where my mouth was. I then started trading his service with my live, real money account. Almost immediately I began to notice inconsistencies in how Carlos was reporting trades. In short, the reported trades on his website were no longer accurate. I wrote a updated review here that describes the experience. Subsequently, I began receiving emails from subscribers detailing the problems that they were having. Mainly in the reporting of trades. I contacted Carlos with these complaints and was hopeful that he would right the ship. However, when he refused to show me live account statements to verify the trading performance, then I knew I had to pull the plug. In total, I made exactly one sale promoting TradingMission.com, over a one day test period. And if I knew whom that person was that subscribed, I would send him or her their money back. The total income was $90. Lesson learned.

Ok, next I would like to talk about Jason Love at OilTradingGroup.com.

I originally wrote a review about Jason and the Oil Trading Group back in 2014. You can read the original review here. Initially, I was very cautious about Jason. However, after watching him trade for a couple of months, he really won me over. And it really helped that he opened up to me about his personal trading performance. This was the first time that I got to see how a large trader conducted himself. Going over his account statements was both elating and horrifying. I got to see some huge trades reap massive profits and some others that are just plain gut wrenching. Lets just say that Jason is plenty comfortable with risk, and he is supremely confident with his trading approach. My own experiences in watching him trade and recording his trading inspired me to write a follow up review on May 27, 2015. You can read that follow up here. One of the things I like about Jason is that he has been able to get 8+ people through the TopStepTrader combine, and he has passed that combine several times himself. In addition, he has been one of the most successful traders, in terms of real money earners at TopStepTrader. In short, I have had a really good working relationship with Jason, and I really like him personally. But, I did not form any sort of marketing agreement with Jason until very recently…that began on September 1, 2015.

Why did I wait so long before I formed a marketing agreement with Jason Love and the Oil Trading Group? In short, Jason was trading in such size and scale that the vast majority of the people that were subscribing could not replicate his trading. It was not uncommon to watch Jason have a 30K up month, followed by a $15k drawdown, but these figures are based upon larger contract size per trade. Considering that the average futures trading account is $15k, how could a person replicate Jason without blowing out his account? This was a problem. And so Jason and I agreed that he would establish a new, live trading account with only $15k in beginning capital. This account would be traded in the live trading room, and it would be tracked and recorded. Only by doing this was I comfortable in making sure that the audience could replicate Jason’s trades. I feel like I worked out a pretty good deal for the audience, in return Jason has agree to pay TradingSchools.Org a referral fee of $30 for each trial member sign up. The agreement has only been in effect for a month, but I have now generated $210 in income from the marketing agreement with the Oil Trading Group. This agreement is also very informal, so if you sign up for a trial of his trading room, please make sure that you mention TradingSchools.Org. The income keeps the lights on, and fresh reviews flowing.

Next, lets talk about TopStepTrader.com

TopStepTrader reached out to me this past May, 2015 and requested that I write a review. Their business model is to allow traders to pay a monthly fee to trade on a trading simulator. If the person reaches a minimal performance threshold, trading on a simulator, then TopStepTrader would award the person a real money trading account. There are certainly many that have legitimate criticism regarding the TopStepTrader business model. However, they are the only legitimate opportunity within this trading space. Yes, TopStepTrader makes a killing on combine fee’s, and many of the combine graduates quickly crash and burn with their live trading accounts, however this is the only bonafide company within this space. In my opinion, it is very important that this company succeeds. If the model works well, then others will form legitimate companies to compete with TopStepTrader and this will create a more liberal performance environment for all traders that need funding.  With this in mind, I agreed to write a positive review regarding TopStepTrader. My review is littered with affiliate links. If you read the review and click the affiliate link, and then sign up for a trading combine then TradingSchools.Org receives a commission for each new customer. How much does TradingSchools.Org receive? I am embarrassed to say that I am not really sure! Perhaps I should of asked. Honestly, I just want this company to succeed so badly that I was willing to work for free.

To date, I have earned $0 from TopStepTrader. However, my review is ranked number one on Google search, and a massive amount of people currently read the review daily. My link tracking statistics show a huge amount of click through’s. And I find it really shady that not one of the thousands of people that click do not purchase. I think what is happening is that TopStepTrader also has a bunch of coupon sites offering $20 in reduced combine fee’s. The coupon sites are basically stealing my traffic. Which is annoying for sure. I contacted TopStepTrader and they have been very accommodating and offered to pay me a monthly advertising fee which I refused. Instead I agreed to accept an offer where any TradingSchools.Org reader will get a exclusive code that allows the reader to the first month of any trading combine at zero cost. Its an amazing deal. Better to pass the savings onto the readers. This is a amazing deal for the readers or anyone thinking of joining TopStepTrader, use my affiliate code and your first month of a fully operational trading combine will cost you absolutely nothing. Absolutely zero risk or cost. Please contact me directly for the coupon code. My direct email is emmett@tradingschools.org.

Hopefully, at some point we can start generating a profit on  TopStepTrader. But for now, not a penny.

Ok, finally my last marketing agreement: B12Trader.com

Several months ago, a reader sent me a request to review B12Trader.com. This is Jasen Baker’s website, and you can read the review here. The B12Trader website is a relatively new website that swing trades ETF stocks from a global macro perspective. Yes, the track record was a little light, and I provided a detailed overview of all of these issues. However, I had many very open and honest conversations with Jasen Baker and he made me feel very comfortable in recommending his service to TradingSchools.Org readers. In fact, I signed up myself and take each of the trades. I dont trade huge size, but I feel very confident in Jasen’s trading. The review describes everything in detail. This is the type of service that I would recommend to my mother. With this in mind, I agreed to a marketing agreement with Jason, which is also very clearly described and disclosed in the original review. The agreement calls for TradingSchools.Org to receive a commission of 25% of the gross sales from each client, for the life cycle of the client.

It has now been one month since this agreement went into effect. To date, TradingSchools.Org has earned a net of $1,472.02 in earning for the month of September, 2015. To date, after all of these months of toiling with this blog, writing and researching, recording videos and watching videos, I have finally gotten a glimmer of profitability.

Hopefully, Jasen Baker of B12Trader.com can keep up doing what a good job and we can continue to grow his subscriber base and get him the exposure that he certainly deserves.

Itemized Income

Ok, so if you have gotten this far, then perhaps you can go a little further. To recap, September is the first month that the blog has actually made anything significant. The income for September is as follows:

  1. Google Adsense $489.91
  2. Oil Trading Group $210.00
  3. Top Step Trader $0
  4. B12 Trader $1,472.02

Total gross income for September, 2015 is $2,171.93.

Ok, so now that we gone over the monthly income. Lets now go over the monthly expenses.

TradingSchools.Org Monthly Expenses

TradingSchools.Org has three employees. Reyna, Cesar, and myself. The business runs as follows, everyday Cesar remotely logs into one of 6 different live trading rooms, using 6 different computers. The computers are housed at my residence and Cesar uses screen sharing software to control each machine. His job is to gain access to each of the trading rooms using different aliases, and then record the live trading activity using Camtasia screen recording software. On any given day, he will typically record 20 hours of video footage. Once the videos are captured, he then converts the video into MP3 format, which can be played back at 2 X’s the original speed without loss of sound quality or distortions. He also runs a program that attempts to convert as much of the audio portion of the video into written word. This can be really helpful because if the video contains subtitles, this allows a clearer interpretation. Cesar’s job is to get the videos converted and ready for review.

Cesar currently works from his home in the Philippines. He is also a full time college student and the TradingSchools.Org job currently consumes 4 hours each day of time. I am currently paying Cesar $300 each month as a part time employee. Cesar speaks fluent English and is working on his degree in aeronautical engineering. He is a very sharp young man.

After the videos are collected, they are then organized and stored on a single server. At this point, Reyna and myself will typically spend 5 hours each, every day of the week reviewing the footage. As the videos are reviewed, we edit and make notations inside of the videos. We look for things like a trading DOM, trading from the charts, evidence of account statements, but mostly we look at deception and fraud. In fact, you would be amazed at the amount of fraud and chicanery that we witness inside of these trading rooms. Currently, I pay Reyna $800 each month to help with this labor intensive portion of the business. Reyna speaks perfect English, in fact, she has spent a good portion of the last 15 years working in call centers in Manila, Philippines. She has been with me, as a full time employee for 6 months, and I consider her to be irreplaceable. She enjoys the  job because she gets to stay at home with her kids.

The final piece of the puzzle is myself. I don’t take a salary. In fact, I have lost money on this project since day one. But maybe at some point I can get this blog earning enough to keep afloat. Time will tell. Anyway, my job is to craft the reviews from my unique perspective, and attempt to not put the audience to sleep.

Other than Reyna and Cesar, I have the following expenses related to this blog: web hosting fee’s of $125 per month, Wistia video hosting at $20 each month, and $400 a month for a web security company that helps me run background checks on trading room vendors as well as network snooping tools.

  1. Reyna $800 monthly
  2. Cesar $300 monthly
  3. Myself $0 monthly
  4. Web hosting $125 monthly
  5. Video hosting $20 monthly
  6. Web Security/Snooping Tools $400 monthly

Total expenses for September $1645.

For the month of September, the TradingSchools.Org blog earned a net income of $528. Many of you reading this probably find this laughable, but in fact this is the very first month that the blog actually earned an income. Prior to September the blog had an average monthly loss of $1,300. Yes, you are reading this correctly, for the past 9 months I have lost money on this blog to the tune of -$10,400.

As you are reading this, now you perhaps get a better understanding of the brutal economics of attempting to bring transparency to an industry that sorely needs it. Keep in mind that for every bad review that I write, this is yet another enemy that I make and the pool of potential marketing partnerships shrinks further.

The road ahead.

Going forward, if I can maintain the current levels of monthly income, I will be hiring an additional writer on November 1st, 2015. This will double the amount of reviews that the blog is currently outputting. I do my best to publish two, very well researched reviews each week. However, with an additional writer, then I can get a new review published nearly every single day. This will allow me to cover much more ground, as well as do more update reviews on previously reviewed products, this helps to insure that vendors keep up to date, transparent, and honest.

Well that is it for today. Sorry this post is do darn long. I promise that next month, the income and expense report will be ultra short and to the point. However, for this initial income report, I wanted the audience to understand the economics of this venture. Don’t forget to leave your comments below. This would be a great time to express your opinions regarding any and all marketing agreements.

Leave a Reply

53 Comments on "TradingSchools.Org: Income and Expense Report"

avatar
Photo and Image Files
 
 
 
Audio and Video Files
 
 
 
Other File Types
 
 
 

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Artem
Guest
Artem
11 months 9 days ago

Congratulations! Hope the blog would keep on moving forward!

Stray Dog
Guest
Stray Dog
11 months 8 days ago

Thanks for the behind the scenes look at what goes into the blog. It’s given me a new appreciation for how much work it is so I hope it eventually pays off for you. Unfortunately it will be an up hill battle if your main source of revenue from the blog has to come from “honest” trading education vendors, they’re as elusive as the Sasquatch. Consider including a donation button, I’ll contribute to support the good work you’re doing.

Tom Crapstone
Guest
Tom Crapstone
11 months 8 days ago

Thank you!!!!!!

Vlad
Guest
11 months 8 days ago

Web hosting $125/monthly ? Why so expensive ? The most expensive option with Bluehost, called Business Pro is $20/month, and that’s if you buy an one year package- for 3 years, the prices goes down to $15/month

Colin Unger
Guest
Colin Unger
11 months 8 days ago

Thanks for your advice on b12trader.com i signed up as soon as the review went up and i’m in the profit so far.

Martin
Guest
Martin
11 months 8 days ago

Get that donation button up and running Emmett

TraderTom
Guest
TraderTom
11 months 8 days ago

If you had a Paypal account I would make a donation of $200.
Keep up the good work.

Colin Unger
Guest
Colin Unger
11 months 8 days ago

I would encourage you to do that if you wanted to. But personally I’m far to greedy for that lol…

Once I’ve used the information on this site to make 100k i’ll donate 1000 dollars 🙂

scammersBeDamned
Guest
scammersBeDamned
11 months 8 days ago

Thanks for all your hard work. Your honest reviews have saved me hundreds of dollars and even made me some with B12 Trader. A ‘donate’ button like others suggested would certainly get my wallet out to help you.

trader
Guest
trader
11 months 8 days ago

Thank you for all your hard work

Henry IV
Guest
Henry IV
11 months 8 days ago

Great, great work Emmett. Can you also check out Charsky trades (charsky.com). Also for those who have been using B12, can you post how you are doing, what kinds of trades, etc.?

Jasen
Member
11 months 8 days ago

Hi Henry, this is jasen from b12trader.com I offer a free two week trial to my premium service which gives you in depth and detailed analysis of every trade I make. Also it gives you access to the entire history of trades and analysis I made since the site started.

Scott
Guest
Scott
11 months 5 days ago

I signed up with B12 last month and really like it. I only take trades that are 2:1 or better and i ask for such a deep discount i dont always get filled (missed Yang by .01 the other day) but i have made roughly several hundred on B12’s calls. It supplements my own trading style nicely. Finally, Jasens analysis is very intresting and worth the $34 a mo.

Joseph Martin
Guest
Joseph Martin
11 months 8 days ago
Great stuff Emmett! I’m a long term reader of your reviews and sad as it sounds – I pop in every few days to check out the comments and read any new amusing and informative reviews, taking great pleasure each time you expose another charlatan. I like so many others have real gratitude for the work you do, not least in making a meaningful effort to change how this lying, fraudulent and BS infected industry works. Saying that I am constantly surprised how many people fall for some the more obvious scams in this game. It goes without saying that… Read more »
sam
Guest
sam
11 months 7 days ago

Congratulations!!! I really enjoy the clarity and transparency your site provides!!! Emmett means truth in hebrew!!! rock on in bringing out the truth and giving the fraudsters a run for thier money!!! I was hoping you would review the binary broker citrades.com who process payments in sophia, bulgaria. They’re such shysters, thieves and lawyers. do you know of them? or plan to review them? I was scammed by them and feel that the best thing I could do is help other innocent people before they get scammed. lots of luck in your future reviews and endeavors!!!

sam
Guest
sam
11 months 7 days ago

Hi Emmett, I was wondering if the profits from b12 are from trading profits or referral fees?

Chris
Guest
Chris
11 months 6 days ago

Hi Emmett, I sent an email yesterday regarding the TopStep affiliate code. If you would please help me out with that, I would greatly appreciate it 🙂 christopherhuston(at)hotmail(dot)com Thanks for everything you do!

trader
Guest
trader
11 months 4 days ago

Emmett
are you going to do a review on LEARNTOTRADE.CO.UK [ Greg Secker’s]
the biggest forex educator company in Europe and Asia.
Can’t wait for the day when you can do two reviews a week
power to the people.

Darrin
Guest
Darrin
11 months 2 days ago
Hi Emmett, I love your site and appreciate the work that you do. I have one question about the direction of the blog thats really been on my mind: Why have you not yet really gone after some of the whales in the trading education industry ? The Tastytrade’s or the John Carter’s for example. Some of these large investools type operations have caused millions of dollars in devastation for the retail trader. Far more than some of these small time chat room guys. I’ve been an options and futures trader for a long time and I have never personally… Read more »
WasRichNowPoor
Guest
WasRichNowPoor
10 months 25 days ago

Keep up the good work. The honesty and transparency is refreshing in this world of scams and chicanery.

Nic
Guest
Nic
10 months 21 days ago

Great work! It´s a shame that the rooms with over 3 stars are very easy to count.

VB
Guest
VB
10 months 11 days ago
WHEW!! Am I glad I bumped into your site Emmett !! Thanks so much for taking on this very noble endeavor. It kind of reminds me of the ending of “catch me if you can” when Leo’s character starts working with the feds and educating them on check fraud lol. You are certainly a hero to say the least especially since I was so close to signing up with warriortrading ha! I’ll check out your recommendations instead and hopefully it’ll end up putting money in your pocket. oh and you should definitely put a donation button on here ya big… Read more »
Jeff
Guest
Jeff
10 months 10 days ago
I just wanna say I am eating humble pie, I have followed your website for a very long time. I was interested in day trading power by your steller reviews. Untill I noticed in the comments you said they should raise there prices or else they might end up like timothy sykes where they have too many followers. And the next comment was they have raised there prices! That turned me off to your whole site, I was thinking your just getting a kick back hence they raised there prices. But I see now that was not true and I… Read more »
MICHAEL
Guest
MICHAEL
10 months 8 days ago
I just received an email from Dean A Handley telling me to be aware of Emmett Moore. The link is tesseracttrading.com/#!who/c4nz. Scroll down under Public Service Announcement. “Be aware of Emmett Moore (Believed to be his legal name) who is a self-admitted SEC felon who has recently begun attacking web sites within the trading industry.” Hopefully, a group of us can write a Public Service Announcement to be aware of DR Dean A Handley. The con man shill who gets paid for his endorsements. Yes the “A” in his name stands for A$$HOLE!!!! Keep up the good work Emmett.
Catherine
Guest
Catherine
10 months 6 days ago

Thank you! And not so much thanks on behalf of the naive who have to be burned before they open their eyes (aka growing pains), but for those of us trying to do due diligence in a sea of scoundrels.

By the way, I appreciate your criminal disclosure. Ex-cons often are the best citizen advocates because they know.

Tony Echemendia
Guest
Tony Echemendia
10 months 11 hours ago

Emmett,first I want to say thank you for this website.It has been a blessing! I think your reviews are right on! Also, dont let people get to you about your past! Whats important is the person you are now! good luck and best wishes1

rick wieland
Guest
rick wieland
9 months 27 days ago
I to would be interesed in supporting this website . maybe in the form of friends of of traidng schools . have leval of donation that would allow some of us who are willing to donate at certain level to be involed with you maybee some kind of insider group. you have saved me a lot of time and money. have been in lots of rooms.My hoby is try many different rooms and systems trying to find something that works. you have laid a great foundation and would be great to find a vehicle in witch to offer support. Thanks… Read more »
Carlos
Guest
Carlos
9 months 12 days ago

Emmet,

Add a Paypal donate button. We as a community will help. You save us thousands and your reviews are not only eye opening, they are entertaining to read.

ross peterson
Guest
ross peterson
7 months 15 days ago

I am preparing to enter the market.
thank you for the reviews and honesty
I am in Canada and hoping to find a good broker. Help if possible.

Dong Yah
Guest
Dong Yah
6 months 22 days ago

Has anyone had any dealings with with actual physical classes held by the Online Trading Academy http://www.tradingacademy.com?

I’m based in Asia where they have a base. Their courses seem expensive (and from what I’ve read they try to up-sell you each time to a new module) so wanted to know if it is worthwhile consideration. I’m a newbie willing to seriously invest time and money to educate myself as much as possible.

P.S – thanks for all the great info on this site. I came across this site and spent hours here as so much great info…

sam
Guest
sam
6 months 5 days ago

Can you access elitetrader.com Dong? OTA has long had a reputation for being an expensive wide geographic reaching scam since the last decade. Here’s a link: http://www.elitetrader.com/et/index.php?threads/warning-online-trading-academy-tradingacademy-com.182218/page-15

Sorry to hear tradingschools.org is still at a loss Emmett. Like others have mentioned, maybe a paypal donation link. Or even a yearly subscription fee like Microsoft does for Office. The site has great value as an account saving warning advice for thousands who try to do a retail trading business.

Peejay Lal
Guest
Peejay Lal
5 months 20 days ago

When Ineternet is full of excellent free courses, why you want to pay them ?

Jonathan
Guest
Jonathan
4 months 23 days ago

Respect.

Daniel
Member
3 months 16 days ago

Very interesting!

wpDiscuz